A new Blog you might be interested in following … perhaps?

 

Hello everybody,

 

As you are no doubt aware, ‘Eating the Sheep’s Head’ has been very quiet for a long time now.

 

My wife and I are no longer living in Kilcrohane but have moved a few miles down the road to the gateway to the peninsula, Durrus village. With the move, my life has headed off in another direction and a new adventure has begun.

 

What's that you say? A new blog?

What’s that you say? A new blog?

Last year (2013), I submitted some of my work at the West Cork Literary Festival and was lucky enough to receive the J.G. Farrell Fiction Award for a novel-in-progress.

 

With Richard Skinner from  Faber Academy at the West Cork Literary Festival in 2013.

With Richard Skinner from Faber Academy at the West Cork Literary Festival in 2013.

So, I have spent the last year researching and working hard to write my first novel, which is set in the eastern states of the USA.

 

And that’s where I am right now.

 

I will be spending two months following my story through the American states stretching from New York to Pennsylvania down to Virginia, North and South Carolina and then back up through the Shenandoah Valley to Lancaster, Pennsylvania.

 

I have started a new blog entitled ‘Travels with a Confederate‘ and I hope you will take a look at it and perhaps follow my adventures in the USA.

 

I have never been to America before so I am documenting my travels: the sights, food, people as well as the stories I pick up along the way about the people I meet and the places I visit.

 

I hope you come along with me as I make my way on my American adventure.  

Did you say a new blog? Yes, I'm curious...

Did you say a new blog? Yes, I’m curious…

11 thoughts on “A new Blog you might be interested in following … perhaps?

  1. Brian–You must be eating in all the wrong places!!! Would love to try and impress you with some of our local restaurants. One of my favorites is The Belvedere Inn. You could walk there from State St. or I could pick you up.–Pat Joyce Tuszl

  2. Dear Bri<n, tks your info. I wish you a very good and successfull trip and all best wishes for the novel. Best Harro, Ahakista

  3. Good luck with your travels. An FYI careful of the confederate bit especially north of the Mason-Dixon line. The Confederate flag is perceived by many on the Union side as racist. Many in the south are proud of their confederate history and many elsewhere look askance at that. There is so much to see and local foods to try. Enjoy!

    • Thanks, everything is going really well so far. Here in Pennsylvania everybody is really helpful and interested in my project. Heading to Virginia at the end of the month. I hope you stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

